Sunday, October 24, 2010

1921 - 1930

Winner in 1921 - Sister Olive.

Sister Olive was originally trained by Jack Williams to be a sprinter, but it wasn't until jockey Edward O'Sullivan took her out for a test that her true potential was discovered. After running her O'Sullivan informed Williams he was training her the wrong race, according to O'Sullivan Sister Olive was a natural stayer. After O'Sullivan nursing Sister Olive around to the final bend O'Sullivan then urged the filly along to gain three-lengths over Amazonia and win the race in 3:27:75. Owner F. W. Norman collected a total winnings of 10,450 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1922 - King Ingoda.

In the 1922 race he was lined up in an all-stars race, his victory was helped with training by James Scobie. King Ingoda with jockey Titch Wilson won the race with a time of 3:28:25. Owner's C. L. Dubois and R. W. Bennett went home with winnings worth 12,624 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1923 - Bitalli.

Considering Bitalli had not been raced for the six months prior to Melbourne Cup 1923, it is not suprising that he started with long odds. However, his eccentric trainer James Scobie had no doubts that Bitalli would still the show. The five-year-old won the race with jockey Titch Wilson in a time of 3:24:25, costing bookmakers 400,000 pounds. Owner A. T. Craig left with the largest winnings to date of 13,288 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1924 - Backwood.

Backwood was the first of four Melbourne Cup victories for trainer Bradfield. He was the second imported horse to win the race, securing victory at the nine furlong mark with one continuous run. Backwood was one of Bradfield's few horses that were imported and trained in Australia.

Backwood with jockey Bunty Brown in a time of 3:26:50, and owner E. Baillieu went home with a total of 12,818 gold sovereigns in winnings.

Winner in 1925 - Windbag.

The Melbourne Cup race in 1925 was the first year the ABC provided transmission. Windbag and jockey James L. Munro won the race with a lap time of 3:22:75, he was trained by George R. Price and owned by R.Miller left with a total winnings of 13,216 gold sovereigns. Bred at Percy Miller's Kia-Ora Stud in the Hunter Valley, Windbag was one of several Cup winners bred at the stud.

Winner in 1926 - Spearfelt.

Spearfelt was a descendant of Carbine, which definitely helped the stallion succeed on the track. In front of 118,877 people, Spearfelt won by half a length with a time of 3:22:75, with jockey Hugh Harold Cairns, equalling Windbag's winning time from the previous cup. Trained by V. O'Neill and owned by D. C. Grant who left with the winnings of up to 12,912 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1927 - Trivalve.

The winner of 1927 Melbourne Cup, Trivalve was a destined champion given he had a double cross of Carbine's bloodline. On the day, he was ridden by the great Bobbie Lewis and trained by legendary trainer, James Scobie. This years win would be the fourth win for both Lewis and Scobie. Owner E. E. D. Clarke who went home with the winnings totalling 13,198 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1928 - Stateman.

Trained and owned by prominent racing identity William Kelso, Stateman won the Cup by beating favourite Strephon by four lengths. Statesman was gelded straight away his win and Kelso supported this decision by stating that geldings were easier to train and handle. This year's race would be the smallest Banker in 1863. Stateman and jockey James L. Munro won the Cup in 3:23:25, owner Kelso went home with winnings totalling 12,675 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1929 - Nightmarch.

Best known for beating Phar Lap in the 1929 Melbourne Cup, the New Zealand foaled Nightmarch earned his status as a great racehorse by winning both the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year. The stallion managed to beat the legendary horse by four lengths and many blamed Phar Lap's defeat on the fact that he pulled for half the race. Funnily enough, Phar Lap and Nightmarch were sons of the same sire, Night Raid. Nightmare crossed the winning line with a time of 3:26:50, with jockey Roy Reed, trained by A. McAulay and owned by A. Louisson who took home winnings equalling 12,422 gold sovereigns.

Winner in 1930 - Phar Lap.

The only horse to be given legend status by the Australian Racing Hall of Fame, Phar Lap holds the record for the shortest priced favourite in the Melbourne Cup. During the 1930 Melbourne Cup, Phar Lap created quite a bit storm after bookmakers realised they would lose a fortune on Phar Lap was to win. Phar Lap was shot at on the same day by gangsters. However, Woodcock placed himself and his pony between Phar Lap and the shot, saving the horse from tragedy. After the race Phar Lap was sent into hiding in Geelong at St Albian's.

Phar Lap with jockey James E. Pike in a winning time of 3:27:75, trained by Harry R. Telford. Owner's Telford and Davis went home with winnings totalling 12,429 gold sovereigns.

No comments:

Post a Comment